The Buzz

Simply Gerta

Theatre Unbound looked at the possiblity and potential of my words, where I could be, rather than where I had been. That's a rare and honorable artistic choice.

Carol Critchley Playwright November 25, 2016

Medea: a Noh Cycle

...this forceful production illuminates the misogyny and injustice that compel [Medea] to vengeance.

John Townsend Minneapolis Star Tribune November 25, 2016

Boy Gets Girl

Theatre Unbound stares without flinching at the destruction of a woman's life, in a world where the innocent aren't guaranteed safety...

Quinton Skinner City Pages November 25, 2016

Directors’ Gym 2008

The variety and challenge this project provides is energizing!

Participating artist November 25, 2016

The Taming

...a whole lot of fodder for political satire, humor, and wackiness.... The Taming delivers. Clever, funny and topical.

Cherry and Spoon December 16, 2016

Bits and Pieces

...a poignant statement about a generation suppressing its most fervent emotions underneath a Paxil haze.

Christy DeSmith City Pages November 25, 2016

The Most Massive Woman Wins 2009

Tough issues that, while at first glance seem to be about the female experience, are unexpectedly and powerfully universal - this is a show for both genders. Incredibly moving, well directed and beautifully performed.

Stan Peal September 17, 2016

The Most Massive Woman Wins 2009

I almost can't believe I'm giving a Fringe show five kitties, but I'm doing it and I have no doubt. This production was, by far, my favorite performance of the entire Festival. All four performers present deeply touching portrayals of doubt, guilt, beauty, and love. Intended to address body image for women, this show addressed, in my opinion, the issue of body image for all of us. Do NOT miss the final performance!

Ryan Grimes September 17, 2016

The Anastasia Trials in the Court of Women

Stacey Poirier steals the show as the most ferocious of the feminists.

William Randall Beard Minneapolis Star Tribune November 25, 2016

Goodnight Desdemona (Good Morning Juliet)

Delta Giordano, in a completely fetching performance, plays Constance as brainy but self-thwarting, afraid of the passions to which she is entirely enthralled.

Quinton Skinner City Pages November 25, 2016

Girl Shorts 2014

Now bigger and better!

Sheila Regan City Pages November 25, 2016

The Most Massive Woman Wins

This show is probably my favorite Fringe show I have seen this year. It was powerful and emotional, while also being humorous. The acting was phenomenal; each woman injected realism and charisma into the characters they played. Every woman can identify with the struggle to be comfortable with her own body while being bombarded with negative messages from the media, from their significant others, and even from their own parents. There was one character in particular with whom I strongly identified, but all four of the characters were realistic portrayals of American women. I highly recommend this show!

Heather Baldwin The Most Massive Woman Wins September 17, 2016

The Most Massive Woman Wins 2009

It is easy for me to get seduced by all the funny, funny and funny that Fringe has to offer. It's great to be reminded occasionally that Fringe also offers some damn outstanding straight-up theatre. Not that this show didn't have its funny moments, it did, but went much further and much deeper than 90% of the other work at Fringe. Really terrific; definitely among the top 3 shows of the festival for me. Congratulations to the actors and crew of MMWW and also to Theatre Unbound -- I was familiar with the company but had never made it to a production before; now I can't wait to see what happens next.

Curt Lund September 17, 2016

24-Hour Play Project 2009

Prominent local artists walk the tightrope of on-the-spot creation.

Quinton Skinner City Pages November 25, 2016

The Taming

The Taming delivers a shard of hope to offer some light amid the dismal conduct of our political arena.

Arthur Dorman Talkin' Broadway December 16, 2016

The Tempest

A winner.

William Randall Beard Minneapolis Star Tribune November 25, 2016

Brilliant Traces

Emotionally charged performances plus conceptually intriguing writing = a great theatre experience. I know what I need to do with that particular pair of shoes now also ... thanks!

Jill Johnson Brilliant Traces October 22, 2016

The Most Massive Woman Wins

"A must-see!"

St. Paul Pioneer Press August 18, 2016

24:00:00 Xtreme Theatre Smackdown 2014

The resulting plays could crash and burn, turn out mind-blowingly awesome, or maybe a head-spinning combination of the two.

Jessica Armbruster City Pages November 25, 2016

24-Hour Play Project 2008

Everyone jumps in with both feet. Everyone seems to make broader, braver choices.

Ahna Brandvik Participating artist November 25, 2016

Girl’s Got Pluck

Just when you thought the straight-white-male version of history and art was becoming more irrevocably entrenched, Theatre Unbound dashes to the rescue.

John Townsend Lavender Magazine November 25, 2016

Brilliant Traces

This show will touch you and wake and shake you up, days after you see it! Linder and Poirier work so well together, you forget how much work goes into doing this kind of an intense performance! Miriam Monasch has staged it to the stars' advantage, both visually and vocally. Watching this show reminded me that we are all so close to the line, and can go either way depending on the heart of the person nearest us. Bravo and Brava to Linder and Poirier!

Anita Kozan Brilliant Traces October 22, 2016

The Love Talker

Riveting.

William Randall Beard Minneapolis Star Tribune November 25, 2016

Medea

Bone-chilling

Audience review November 25, 2016

Directors’ Gym 2004

A wonderful challenge in creativity.

Kelly McGowan Participating director November 25, 2016